Skip to content

How Do You Create Value as an Insurance Professional?

August 12, 2016

Value In Word Cloud Shows Worth Importance Or Significance Stock Photo“How Do You Create Value as an Insurance Professional?”

This apparently simple question may well be the most important one you will ever be asked. 

Without a compelling value proposition you are ordinary and disposable — a commodity.  With a distinguished value proposition you are unique and indispensable.

What is a value proposition?

A value proposition statement summarizes the reason why a potential customer should buy your particular product or service, how it exceeds that of your competition, and why it is worthy of the price they must pay.

The ideal value proposition is concise and appeals to the customer’s strongest decision-making drivers.

Three ways to evaluate your value proposition:

  1. The ability to articulate how you create value.
  2. The consumers’ ability to understand and appreciate your value proposition.
  3. The degree to which your value proposition is different from others in the marketplace.

How do you create value?  Your answer to this question has unparalleled implications in determining your future success. You’ll soon discover exactly how to create a value proposition unlike anything else in the insurance industry today.

______________________________

This article was pulled exclusively from the minds of the Beyond Insurance marketing team.  We strive to help you live happier, work smarter, and make more money.  However, for us to do so, we need your help!  Let us know what your biggest frustrations are within the insurance industry by clicking here.  Who knows? Maybe you’ll be the inspiration behind our next article!
One Comment leave one →
  1. Renee D'Ambrosio permalink
    August 15, 2016 4:38 pm

    I create value by targeting only my niche markets (schools, Higher Ed, Human Service non-profits) and listing a handful of very specific DELIVERABLES that I have delivered to my current clients. I know these may be unique compared to my competition from feedback I get from clients and prospects.

    As I create and finish projects with current clients to meet a need, help reduce risk, I may incorporate that achievement in a generic way into my list of deliverables. The more specific, anecdotal achievements resonate with my audience of Business Managers and CFOs.

    I explain it this way: every client is paying a fee for their insurance broker. Mostly, this is in the form of commission. Do they know how much that “fee” might be? I average it out to 10% of their premium. Would you write a check to your current agent for $20,000 for the work they do for you? If you would, great! If not, that’s about what I know my commission would be and I can guarantee you I will earn by….(listing the deliverables).

    Sincerely, Renee D’Ambrosio

Leave a Reply

